Quick info

Hamilton, New Zealand
Next intake
13 Apr 2020 - 5 Jun 2020
8 weeks Full time (Monday-Friday)
Domestic fees
$9,737 (2020 prices)
Intenational fees
$10,800 (2020 prices)
Button for easy access to information about this qualification

Duration 8 weeks full time (Monday-Friday)

Comprises of ADAS PART 3 SSBA 50m, ADAS Chamber operators and the ADAS Offshore Diver Medical Technician (DMT) Courses



New Zealand Certificate in Surface Supplied Breathing Apparatus (SSBA) Construction Diving to 50 metres (Level 5)



Qualification type






Career opportunities

Graduates of this qualification may be employed in positions in the offshore construction diving industry that require underwater construction and infrastructure maintenance work in roles such as:

  • pipeline development and maintenance
  • drilling platform commissioning/decommissioning and maintenance
  • well head construction and maintenance
  • reef and salvage operations
  • wave turbine installation and maintenance
  • offshore cable laying and maintenance
  • support of deep sea research and exploration
  • general maritime infrastructure development and maintenance.

Graduates who gain the appropriate Certificate of Competency will be able to work as offshore construction divers to depths of up to 50 metres.


  • ADAS SSBA 30m (part 2) or Internationally recognized equivalent
  • AS/NZ 2299.1 Occupational diving medical clearance


Domestic Fees (New Zealand and Australian citizens or permanent residency visa holders) $9,737.00

International Fees $10,800

Government funding

This course has been approved by the New Zealand Qualifications Authority (NZQA) and Tertiary Education Commission (TEC) for Student Loan and Allowance eligibility. New Zealand Residents and Citizens are able to access these loans to cover the full cost of the course. Eligibility for a student allowance depends on personal circumstances. Please contact us for further information or apply online.

Start dates

# Start date End date
1 13 January 2020 6 March 2020
2 13 April 2020 5 June 2020
3 20 July 2020 11 September 2020
4 26 October 2020 18 December 2020